WARNING…OFFICE BANTER…STAY BACK 10 METERS!!!

So you’re looking to climb the corporate ladder but can’t help getting caught up on the latest office drama at the water cooler – or you get that “Meet me in the lunch room in five, I have to tell you what I just heard” email from a co-worker.  This isn’t the way.  Stay as far away from office politics as possible.  Sabotage may have been the old way of getting ahead, but that has been long replaced with teamwork and professionalism.

Developing good rapport with your co-workers is just as important as having a good rapport with your boss.  The object is to “stand out” but in a good way.  Be known for  taking part in different committees or taking on extra tasks and assignments; giving good feedback at a meeting, but not for write-ups, quarantined emails with swear words and naughty jokes, or gossip.  If that’s who you are outside of work (the latter, not the former), I suggest you switch roles for your 9-5 if you aim to keep it.  I, myself, am a woman of many hats.  There’s the business side of me, the mom and the diva.  We all have the ability to switch it up now and again.  The Diva will never come out at work, but she will come out when I’m out with my girlfriends having fun or at a Timmies drive thru and my order was mistaken for the umpteenth tim – I’m sure you catch my drift.

You don’t need to be concerned with who is dating who in the office or whether you think your boss may be cheating on her husband, or even if you think the FEDex guy is gay – NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS.  Make your work your business and you will see how fast you reap the rewards.

On the flip side, if you love the drama and you can’t seem to stay away from it no matter how hard you try, then maybe the office isn’t the place for you – BUT theatre school may be.

Leave a comment